The Rices, along with Don and Lee Kendall, George and LaVerne Williams, and many other rockhounds in Washington County, Oregon, decided it would be a good idea to have a club in Forest Grove, closer to local residents. The Tualatin Valley Gem Club (TVGC) was established in 1957. Richard and Helen spent the rest of their lives as active members of TVGC. They were eventually rewarded by TVGC and also the Oregon Agate and Mineral Club (OAMS) with lifetime memberships. They remained active in both clubs throughout their lifetimes. Both clubs played an important part in the development of the museum, supplying volunteers and more.
TVGC especially played a huge part in the development of the Rice Museum. For many years free classes were held in the basement of this museum building to study micro-minerals. Club members also attended free classes here to learn how to make jewelry that showed off their fine lapidary specimens. Helen and Richard hosted many club board meetings in their home, as well as sponsoring work parties to assemble newsletters and to build Federation-standard show cases for use in the gem shows. During this time, the Rices expanded their collection from lapidary specimens only, to include crystallized mineral specimens.